Shop Spotlight: The Retro Remedy

18 Oct

Over the past few months, I’ve had the pleasure of participating in and getting to know the wonderful people of the Vintage Michigan Team on Etsy. This opportunity has led to numerous new friends with an appreciation of vintage, all of whom live right here in this great antique hunting heaven we call Michigan. With so many amazing items in stock, I’ve decided to spread and love and feature the shops of our friends!

One of the first fellow Etsy sellers I conversed with has become a good “virtual” friend, and I’m so happy to feature her shop here in our first Shop Spotlight article by showing off some of her great items and sharing a peek into her world.

*   *   *   *   *

An Etsy Shop by Amy McMeeken

Meet Amy! She’s a serious vintage lover who’s been treasure hunting for as long as she can remember. Amy has been collecting and cherishing her vintage finds since childhood, and enjoys incorporating them into interior design schemes. Her personal motto is very practical, yet simple: “Surround yourself with what you love!”

Amy opened The Retro Remedy on June 20, 2012.  Her shop features a wonderful mix of vintage art, home decor, pottery, glass, kitchenware, jewelry and more!

*   *   *   *   *

What was your inspiration for opening an Etsy shop?

Amy: I have always had a good eye for decor. I recently was selling some items through Craigslist and decide to give Etsy a try with no expectations and ending up falling in love with it all.

But the real root of my inspiration for opening my shop was my Mother. Doing something creative together was something we always thought of doing. After her recent death I decided it was time.

*   *   *   *   *

What initially sparked your passion for vintage?

Amy: Seems like an easy question but I can honestly say I feel like I was born that way. I spent a lot of time with my Grandmother growing up and a lot of vintage reminds me of her.

When I was in early high school days with my first jobs babysitting and working at McDonalds, my good friends Hillary, Carmen and I would blow our checks at the local thrift stores. We could see the potential in older items and we loved the price. We would find “junk” at garage sales and a little spray paint and glitter later and we had a pretty amazing apartment.

*   *   *   *   *   

What do you consider as your personal “style” when picking vintage items to keep for yourself?

Amy: My style is Mid Century Modern.

I love the bold colors and simple designs and even though it is very edgy and modern at times it always seems to have an organic feel to me.

Dark teal glass is my favorite and funky ’70’s orange items too.

*   *   *   *   *

 What vintage items have you incorporated into your own home interior decorating?

Amy: I have a weak spot for mid century lamps… though I am running out of places to put them! I think about 80% of my home is vintage items. But just adding a few here and there can add so much character and unique flair to your home. There is a warmth that only a vintage item can provide.

*   *   *   *   *   

Where are your favorite places to hunt for vintage treasures?

Amy: The Volunteers of America right around the corner is one of my favorite spots.

I also love catching a sale on Thursday or Friday before work or during lunch. I don’t know what it is but I always find the best stuff on those days and I also limit gas expenses because I am going that way anyway.

*   *   *   *   *

With the holidays fast approaching, Amy plans to continue adding a wide variety of her awesome vintage finds to her shop. She happily offers free gift wrapping service, and she ships internationally too!

Here’s a peek at a some of my favorite items available at The Retro Remedy right now:

$135.00

$450.00

$12.00

$45.00

$60.00

$14.00

$14.00

$225.00

$5.00

$9.00

$5.00

$30.00

$22.00

$9.00

$20.00

$8.00

Thanks, Amy, for letting us feature you on our blog!

Want to be in the next Shop Spotlight? Contact me!

Share Your Thoughts

